Freeform Lace Crochet with Quilting Thread

Standard

My interest in freeform lace crochet continues and right now I am experimenting with some quilting thread and other fine threads.  Some of my favorite brands include Lizbeth Cordonnet, Sulky Blendables, Miyuki, and Valdani.

For today’s experiment I am using Valdani quilting/tatting thread (made in Romania) in size 35 wt.  According to the company’s website, this is equivalent to size 24 wt thread in the U.S.  

Valdani Thread – Sparkling Stream

.

This is 35 wt Valdani thread with a size 15 steel crochet hook.  It also comes in two other sizes – 50 wt (40 wt U.S.) and 60 wt (50 wt U.S.).  There are  224 variegated and 156 solid colors to choose from.  To see all the colors go here: Valdani Thread   (Please note: I am not affiliated with this company. Just sharing what I find.)

.

Freeform Lace Crochet in Progress

.

At first I just did random stitch combinations.  But then as I got more familiar with the color length and changes, I started doing more leaf-like shapes for the turquoise/aqua sections and flower bud shapes for the fuschia/pink sections.

.

I’m not sure what this will turn out to be.  Maybe a necklace? Embellishment for a plain shirt as an applique? Bookmark?  Matted and framed? A freeform lace mat?

I bought a few other variegated colors of this thread and may try using it for some bead crochet.  According to this YouTube video, using clear beads with variegated thread makes for an interesting beaded crochet rope:

If any of you have tried this, I’d love to hear from you!

.

.

4 responses »

  1. I do a lot of bead crochet. I like to use Gutermann heavy duty thread and size 6, 8 and 11 seed beads. The hardest part is getting started. I find that I like the patterns from Judith Bertoglio-Giffin the best. I used to travel a t – and this fits in a plastic bag, as the beads are pre-strung they do not fly all over the place.

    • Hi, Pat! I haven’t tried the Gutermann brand of thread yet. I like trying different brands so will look for this one. I agree – starting a bead crochet rope is tricky. There are some folks who make and sell special jigs to help get started. Here’s an example:

      It would be possible to make one, too. Here’s someone who uses a screwdriver to start crochet bead ropes:

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

